Even better than expected

Adrien from Belgium

1 What surprised you the most during your workcamp?

Our animators’s understanding. They were really understandings. It was easy to talk with them about the difficulties I had. I never wanted to leave the camp. In the end of the workcamp, I felt a bit sick (maybe because we ate little meat) but I stayed happy anyway thanks to the team.

2 What was the biggest fear you had before the project and how did you managed to overcome it?

I was not really afraid before the workcamp. However, I think it was even better than what I excepted. I really wanted to stay.

3 What did you learn or what did you bring back with you (new knowledges, new feelings, memories, etc.)?

This experience taught me to be happy with what I already have. For the example, the food, almost every meals were vegetarians. The accommodation too, in the end having just a bed was enough.

I also discovered new cultures, how foreigners are living.

English was fine for me even if sometimes it was difficult to be understood. I taught some Walloon words to the group (a Belgian local language).

I gained new skills in carpentry and  team working.  A nice teamwork!

4 What advice would you give to someone about to take part in a workcamp for the first time ?

Go for it! It’s something that only few people have experienced, it’s amazing. It’s like a new life, a new world completely apart from your everyday life. Everybody is talking to each other, everybody like each other, we don’t need anything more.

5 Anything else you want to share ?

Nothing really.

Leave a comment