Truly beautiful humaneness

Abou from Italy

Sending organisation: Lunaria

Hosting organisation: Elix, Greece

1. What surprised you the most during your workcamp?

The thing that surprised me the most was the group spirit, the support that we gave each other and the young people of the center we worked with. People had a truly beautiful humaneness and attention to others.

2. What was the biggest fear you had before the project and how did you managed to overcome it?

I was very scared not knowing who I would find in the project, I was worried about not being able to be part of the group for the color of my skin, I was afraid of finding prejudices and racism.

From the first moment I arrived, I realized that was not the case, I found a beautiful atmosphere, made up of smiles and people ready to welcome and share with one another one of the most beautiful experiences I have ever experienced.

3. What did you learn or what did you bring back with you (new knowledges, new feelings, memories, etc.)?

I work as a social mediator and I am used to working with people who are particularly supportive and work in the field has also been useful to learn new ways of approaching and working with others, especially in groups and with creative activities.

4. What advice would you give to someone about to take part in a workcamp for the first time?

I advise everyone to do this experience, do not be blocked by the fear of getting involved

 

Leave a comment